Tuning in to tune out

I don’t need to listen to music when I run, but sometimes I need to run so I can listen to music.

When I get some new music on my device I like to lace up, press play, and go for a run. I hear supposedly contrasting opinions from other runners on the effect of running on mental noise; that it clears their minds or, conversely, that it lets them sort things out. This makes perfect sense to me. I grew up in a family where only one of us didn’t have some form of attention deficit issue (I am ‘Highly Distractible’ – yes this is an official term), so I know all about using physical exercise to occupy excess mental energy and focus the rest. For me, I can only properly listen to music if I’m moving.

Isn’t it dangerous?

Probably only slightly riskier. When I’m wearing headphones, I’m aware that I’m not hearing my surroundings as well and I pop one out when crossing roads or compensate by looking more carefully. When I’m not listening to music, I’m often listening to my thoughts and that’s more difficult to monitor.

I suppose if I’m ever run over with my headphones on, I’ll end up cautionary tale, but if I’m hit while not wearing any then no one will suggest that my thoughts were too loud. This is ridiculous. I take loads more risks when my mind is buzzing. My thoughts were so loud after work yesterday that I ran faster than usual along a deserted, dark path next to a river with a wonky headtorch. I accept that this is a matter of opinion though.

Does it pump you up?

Of course, but it doesn’t have to be upbeat or fast-paced music. Good music releases dopamine (first reported by Nature Neuroscience and then picked up by the BBC), no matter if it’s a club remix or a gentle ballad. Running releases endorphins, no matter how slowly. As we’re on the topic, here’s my favourite definition of running:

run

In fact, my personal preference is for gentle music. I think this is because I’m essentially a laidback, long-haired, distance-running hippy. Earlier this year, Paul Simon’s ‘Sound of Silence’ shuffled on during my runcommute home and the lyrics spoke to me so much that I sped up.

At the moment I’m listening to a playlist consisting entirely of Kate Rusby Christmas music, mostly because I went to see her in Bath on Wednesday night. I rushed to the gym for some crosstraining after work, rushed to the venue, blissed out to some quality English folk (I joined #ukrunchat on Twitter for a bit at intermission), and walked home feeling as good as I do after a run. For me, music and running intertwine daily.

2017-12-14 09.16.29
Last two songs performed in Nativity costumes.

 

Kate’s last song was a gentle, calm rendition of ‘We Wish You a Merry Christmas’. She said she didn’t want to send us off with anything too upbeat or we’d do ourselves an injury walking out of the theatre.

If that isn’t a cooldown, I don’t know what is.

Leave a comment